2023 Awards Recognize Top Urologists, Honor Service to Specialty and Society  

BALTIMORE , Dec. 1, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The American Urological Association (AUA) announced today the list of 2023 award recipients. The winners will be recognized at the Association’s Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois , next April marking the 60 th anniversary of the awards program. The particular ceremony will celebrate physician researchers plus educators for their contributions to the particular field of medicine, the specialty associated with urology and the AUA.  

The following awards will be presented:

Ramon Guiteras Award : The particular Ramon Guiteras Award will be presented annually to an individual for outstanding contributions to the art and science of urology. Peter R. Carroll , MD, MPH,   will certainly receive this award for decades of innovative research plus practice improving the lives of men with prostate cancer.

Hugh Hampton Young Award : The Hugh Hampton Younger Award is usually presented yearly to an individual with regard to their exceptional contributions to the study of genitourinary tract disease. Curtis Nickel , MARYLAND, FRCSC, may receive this particular award regarding unwavering devotion to research and enhancing patient care in addressing pelvic pain and inflammation.

Gold Cystoscope Honor : The Gold Cystoscope Award is definitely presented each year to an urologist distinguished by excellent contributions towards the profession within 10 years of completing residency training. Ranjith Ramasamy , MD, can receive this award intended for creative impactful work in andrology, mentorship, clinical scholarship and research.

Mid-Career Prize : The particular Mid-Career Award is presented to some urologist recognized by outstanding contributions to the profession in research, medical urology or advocacy between 10 plus 20 many years of finishing residency coaching. Anne M. Suskind , MD, MS, will receive this particular award to get demonstration associated with clinical expertise, research and mentorship.

Lifetime Achievement Award : The Lifetime Achievement Honor is offered annually in order to an individual for exceptional contributions to advance the mission and goals of the AUA. J. Brantley Thrasher , MARYLAND, will receive this award for dedication to advancing AUA’s objective through visionary service plus educational leadership.

Victor A. Politano Award : The Victor The. Politano Prize is introduced annually to an person for excellent research and work within the field of incontinence plus for improving the treatment of incontinent patients, thereby helping in order to improve their quality of life. Kathleen C. Kobashi , MD, will get this honor for improving patient treatment through the diagnosis and therapy of pelvic floor disorders.

William P. Didusch Art and History Award : The William P. Didusch Art and History Honor promotes plus recognizes efforts to urological art, including, but not limited to, illustrations, sculpture, still photography, motion pictures and television productions.   Ronald Rabinowitz , MD, will certainly receive this award pertaining to revitalizing interest in urologic history through exceptional leadership plus mentorship as AUA Historian.

Diversity & Inclusion Award: The particular Diversity & Inclusion Award is shown annually to an AUA member for outstanding impact on urologic diversity. Simone Thavaseelan , MD, may receive this particular award meant for dedication and commitment to promoting meaningful cultural change for the benefit of urology.

Distinguished Contribution Honours : The Distinguished Contribution Awards are presented annually to individuals who have made outstanding contributions towards the technology and practice of urology, including, but not restricted to, contributions made in a sub-specialty area or even military service. The following individuals can be acknowledged with this award:  

  • Judd W. Moul , MARYLAND, for prolific contributions plus leadership in prostate cancer research and dedicated military service.
  • Samir Taneja , MD, designed for creative, notable contributions within the analysis, imaging plus treatment associated with prostate malignancy.

Distinguished Service Awards : The Recognized Service Awards are displayed annually in order to individuals just for outstanding support in evolving the objectives from the AUA. These individuals will obtain this prize:  

  • David B. Joseph , MD, FAAP, for exceptional contributions to the ACGME, ABU and pediatric urology.
  • Cheryl T. Lee , MD, for outstanding commitment to bladder cancer patients and fostering a culture of inclusivity.
  • Anthony Y. Smith , MD, with regard to dedicated services on AUA committees plus always being a champion of resident education.
  • Joseph A. Smith, Jr. , MD, for excellent service because The Journal of Urology┬« Editor and elevating the particular publication’s overall impact.

Gold-Headed Cane Prize : The particular Gold-Headed Cane Award can be presented to a senior urologist distinguished by outstanding efforts to the profession plus to the particular AUA. The inspiration for that AUA Gold-Headed Cane dates back to a highly respected tradition that began in the 17th century. The particular gold headed cane was first carried simply by Dr. Radcliffe from 1689 to 1714 and it accompanied him on many consultations within London, England . He was known by royalty for his medical skills and was considered a good outstanding practitioner. Dr. Radcliffe was the first in order to pass the particular cane along to the successor whom he considered to be the greatest English physician associated with his time. AUA continues this tradition by presenting this award to Muhammad S. Choudhury , MD, regarding a career dedicated to the education and training of urologists in the United States plus Bangladesh .

Presidential Citations : Presidential Citations are provided to people deemed in order to have significantly promoted the cause of urology. Each recipient is certainly chosen by the AUA President. This honor will become bestowed upon the following individuals:

  • Gennady Bratslavsky , MD , for being an exceptional uro-oncologist and a tireless advocate for Ukrainians.
  • James W. Catto , PhD , for designing and conducting clinical trials to help individuals with urothelial cancer.
  • Jean V. Joseph , MARYLAND, MBA , for refining and teaching robotic surgery for prostate and renal diseases.
  • Seth P. Lerner , MD , intended for dedication to clinical tests and studying the genetic foundations associated with bladder cancer.
  • Kathleen Z. Shanley , PhD , for advancing AUA’s mission in public policy & advocacy.
  • Dan Theodorescu , MARYLAND, PhD , for elucidating the molecular underpinnings of urothelial malignancy.

Read more about the awardees online .

About the American Urological Association : Founded within 1902 and headquartered near  Baltimore, Maryland , the American Urological Association is a leading recommend for the particular specialty associated with urology plus has nearly 24, 000 members throughout the world. The AUA is the premier urologic association, providing invaluable support to the urologic community since it pursues its objective of cultivating the highest standards of urologic care through schooling, research and the formulation of health policy.

Media Contact:
Rachel Butch , Manager, Corporate Communications and Press Relations
410-689-4033, [email protected]

SOURCE American Urological Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *